Consumer Affairs Commission

The Consumer Affairs Commission coordinates consumer activities within the Village, including educational forums and the Farmers' Market. The Commission is an advisory body that prepares reports for the Village Board and makes recommendations on ordinances, regulations, and methods of enforcement related to consumer affairs. All recommendations are presented to the Mayor and the Board of Trustees. Each Commissioner serves a two-year term. Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month.  For more information regarding the Consumer Affairs Commission contact Terry Oline at 847/933-8223.  

The Commission sponsors the Business of the Year and the popular Farmers' Market.

Skokie 2016 Business of the Year

Vote now for the 2016 Skokie Business of the Year by clicking here. The deadline to vote is July 1, 2016.

The Skokie Consumer Affairs Commission honored the winners of the 2015 Business of the Year award at the August 17, 2015 Village Board meeting. The Consumer Affairs Commission received hundreds of ballots nominating many different Skokie businesses. Ballot entries were available in NewSkokie, at and at the Shop Local Skokie Facebook page.

The winners for the 2015 Business of the Year:

  • Business of the Year 1st Place - Illinois Nut and Candy, 3745 Dempster Street
  • 2nd Place - Riser Animal Hospital, 5335 Touhy Avenue

Illinois Nut and Candy received a certificate plaque and a perpetual Business of the Year trophy that has their business name engraved. The trophy will be on display at Illinois Nut and Candy for one year.

The Consumer Affairs Commission sponsors the Skokie Farmers' Market and makes recommendations on ordinances and regulations related to consumer affairs. All recommendations are presented to the Mayor and the Village Board. For further information please contact Terry Oline at 847/933-8400.

Term: two years
Meeting date: 2nd Wednesday night

Consumer Affairs Commission Members
Joanne Haeberlin, Chair
Irv Abramson
Ruhul Chowdhury
Estelle Greenberg
Elana Jacobs
Biju Krishnan
Clifford Levy
George Mathew
Gary Merrill
Anil Pillai
Pratap Sampat
Harshad Shah
Nancy Steinfink
Dimitri Trivizas
Judy Wolf
Trustee Liaison:  Michele Bromberg
Liaison: Terry Oline