Skokie Fine Arts Commission

The Fine Arts Commission promotes interest in cultural and arts activities in the Village. Some of the responsibilities of the Commission include: promoting the work of private organizations and individual volunteers within the Village who are active in the fine arts, and encouraging the cooperation of public and private agencies as well as the general public, in supporting cultural enrichment within the Village.

Grants for Skokie Schools and Arts Organizations

The Skokie Fine Arts Commission offers two granting programs, one for Skokie schools and the other for Skokie Arts Organizations. 

The next round of fine arts grants will be for the 2018 - 2019 program year.  For this program year all projects or programs must take place between May 1, 2018 and April 30, 2019.  Applicants seeking more information may attend a grant workshop on September 12, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. at Skokie Village Hall, 5127 Oakton Street. 2018 - 2019 grants are due by the end of the day on September 28, 2019.  Award recipients will be notified by early November 2018.

If there are any questions about the guidelines or required information during the application process, please contact Fine Arts Commission staff liaison Nick Wyatt at 847/933-8257.

Grant Applications: 
Applications for 2018 - 2019 grants are due by September 28, 2018.  A grant workshop will be held on September 12, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. at Skokie Village Hall, 5127 Oakton Street.

  • Click here for the Cultural Arts Grant application for Skokie Schools
    The Cultural Arts Grant for Skokie Schools (max of $500 per grant) requires the submission of a basic application and completion of program evaluation.  Skokie public and private schools who host professional visiting artists are eligible to apply for this grant.  Programs should have an emphasis on fine arts, music and dance while promoting cultural diversity.
  • Click here for the Project Grant application for Skokie Arts Organizations
    Skokie not-for-profit arts organizations are eligible to apply for the Project Grant for Skokie Arts Organizations.  This grant is available in varying amounts, however, the organization submitting the application must make a matching financial contribution of at least 25% of the cost of the project.  Organizations that receive funding through the Village's Grant Programming Budget, schools and governing bodies with taxing powers are not eligible to apply.

Skokie Through the Lens 2018 

The Skokie Fine Arts Commission is excited to announce Skokie Through the Lens 2018. 

Submission Guidelines
This exhibition is for amateur photographers of all ages who live, work or play in Skokie. Phoneography/Instagram images are welcomed. Each individual may submit up to three images of approximately one to eight megabytes each. Label digital files a such: firstname_lastname_01, 02 or 03 and email them to with the subject line “Skokie through the Lens Entry.” In the email please include your name and phone number. Please also include the location in Skokie and a brief description of each photo.

The deadline to submit photos is Friday, September 28, 2018 however, submissions are welcome anytime until then. The exhibit will be displayed at various community locations in fall 2018. For more information, please contact Nick Wyatt, Assistant to the Village Manager, at 847/933-8283.

The panel will select approximately 30 to 50 images to be exhibited in print format at various Skokie locations in fall 2018.

Students' Outstanding Artist Recognition (SOAR)

The Students' Outstanding Artist Recognition (SOAR) program will feature selected Skokie student artwork at the North Shore Center for the Performing Arts in Skokie, 9501 Skokie Boulevard, from March 5 through March 31, 2018.   A reception honoring student artists was held on Monday, March 19, 2018. Photos from this show can be found below.

Bessie Rhodes Chute Devonshire
East Prairie Edison Fairview South
Highland Jane Stenson Lincoln Jr. High
Madison Oliver McCracken Elizabeth Meyer
John Middleton MCC Academy Mosaic
Niles North Old Orchard Jr. High Walker

The Skokie Fine Arts Commission also sponsors the Students' Outstanding Artist Recognition (SOAR) annual student art show at the North Shore Center for the Performing Arts in Skokie.  Artwork is selected by the students' teachers and is on display during the month of March, in honor of Youth Arts Month.

Skokie Award for Artistic Excellence

Each spring, the Fine Arts Commission sponsors the Skokie Award for Artistic Excellence. 

2019 Skokie Award for Artistic Excellence

Nominations are welcome for individuals and groups who have contributed to the visual, performing, musical or literary arts. Award judging criteria include: Visibility in the Skokie community; Scope of artistic talents; Breadth of impact - number of people reached; Recognition and awards the artist has in Skokie and the entire region received; Demonstration of artistic excellence.

Click here to download the 2019 award application. Nominations should have been submitted by April 6, 2019. Please call the Village Manager's Office for more information at 847/933-8257 or email

Click here to view past recipients.

Resources for Schools and Arts Organizations

The goals of the Fine Arts Commission include informing the community about the activities of organizations whose efforts advance arts and culture in Skokie.  Click on any of the following links to learn more about the arts in the Skokie community and State of Illinois.

Illinois Arts Alliance
Arts Alliance Illinois is a voice for the arts and arts education in Illinois.  Through advocacy, research and collaboration, the Illinois Arts Alliance helps give voice to a creative state.

Illinois Arts Council
The Illinois Arts Council provides links to pages with information on grants, program deadlines, meetings, an art fair directory and arts council publications throughout Illinois.

Commission size: 20 members
Term: Each member shall serve two years
Meeting date: 2nd Wednesday night

Fine Arts Commission Members

Andrea Siegel, Chairman
Mira Chander
Pamela Garbarini
Debra Hatchett
Elisheva Klein
Sonya Osseny
Jeff Rhodes
Hope Salmanoff
Maya Snitman
Carolyn Stein
Sharon Vicker
Liya Wang
Ellen A. Waxberg
Pamela Williams
Trustee Liaison:  Ralph Klein
Liaison: Nick Wyatt